The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a comprehensive framework that sets the standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children are ready for school and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life. In 2008, the latest version of The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework was released by the UK government. The EYFS provides useful advice and detailed information on how to support young children’s learning, development and welfare

The framework consists of six (6) key development areas namely:

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Creative Development
  • Communication, Language & Literacy
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  • Physical Development

The new EYFS framework makes a number of improvements:

  • Reducing bureaucracy for professionals, simplifying the statutory assessment of children’s development at age five.
  • Simplifying the learning and development requirements by reducing the number of early learning goals from 69 to 17.
  • Stronger emphasis on the three prime areas which are most essential for children’s healthy development. These three areas are: communication and language; physical; and personal, social and emotional development.
  • For parents, a new progress check at age two on their child’s development. This links with the Healthy Child review carried out by health visitors, so that children get any additional support they need before they start school.
  • Strengthening partnerships between professionals and parents, ensuring that the new framework uses clear language.